Entry #12 – Programmer

Part of a Short Java Program

Date: Monday June 13th, 2016
Time: 20:35:08

So far, I’ve revealed a little about myself but not what I do in terms of academia & work. Today I’ll start.

I am a novice programmer1. You might have picked up on hints: the title of my first entry, the way I write the majority of my tags (first word lowercase, rest uppercase, no spaces), and the strange habit of starting with the date and exact time.

I am an extremely logical thinker. I tend to think of the world in “if-then” statements. Even while talking to people, I form tree diagrams of the directions in which a conversation can go depending on what I say. Have you played anything by “Telltale Games,” perhaps Game of Thrones2? Well that’s an accurate representation of my mind during a conversation. I also have a crazy level of attention to detail, as a blogger yesterday found out for her benefit. In programming3, a single misplaced/missing character can demolish your program and without an IDE you’ll be hard pressed to find it. A missing semicolon, bracket, or any improper syntax and the program will either refuse to compile or throw an error. Sometimes the smallest thing can drive me insane; now you know why. XD

For this post, I was on the lookout for a good list of traits needed for programmers. Most were more specific than I wanted and included too many details about the workplace but after a few minutes, I stumbled on the perfect one4. I will write briefly about each trait.

  • Patience – This goes in my list of top three general traits. Many have said that I’m a great listener. I can even listen to a good song for hours straight. Patience is so ingrained in me that it’s almost second nature. As you read my future posts, this will be evident.
  • Courage – I’ve always been an introvert but courage was one thing I never lacked. Also refer to future posts. In the meantime, Entry #6 can serve as an example.
  • Passion – This entire blog, my goals, and my life serve as an example of this, but check out my post yesterday if you haven’t!
  • Creativity – Because I have a knowledge in a variety of areas, I make connections between ideas that others may not see. I enjoy finding unorthodox solutions. For example, have a look this short article I wrote last winter. I also appreciate the arts. If you haven’t already, check out “Renaissance Man” for a song I composed.
  • Logic – Thought of this one before I found the list πŸ˜›

Fun fact: I write my blog posts in the text editor of the “wp-admin” section of WordPress. I type in much of the HTML myself. Curious how I indent the list? Today is your lucky day! In the list tag (ul or ol), insert style=”padding-left: 30px;” in the blank space.

<ul _____>
     (List elements)
</ul>

This evening, I was trying to remember an epic theme song that popped into my head. It’s such a great song but I couldn’t remember anything about where or when I’d heard it. Then the context slowly filled in; I heard it about five years ago in a high school history class. I saw images from the movie in my head but I couldn’t have remembered it’s name if my life depended on it. Why am I telling you this? I want to show you just how fragmented my thoughts are when they enter my head and how hard I work to write these posts. Here’s exactly what I Googled to find the song: old american vs natives movie epic theme song…I almost don’t want to include this because it’s so bad. Could literally refer to any number of great movies. Guess I got lucky…another of my top three general traits. πŸ˜‰

The movie you ask? The Last of the Mohicans. Three hour loop of the song below! I planned on including the original 2-minute song, but I liked the picture in this video better ^.^

To awkward endings,
Pulkit

French: Comment t’appelles-tu? – What’s your name? (More common way of asking for a name in France. Thanks to my roommate from bringing this to my attention.)
             Γ‡a va?(!) – How are you? & I’m good! (Depending on if you’re asking or responding)

Latin: Quid est nōmen tibi? – What’s your name?


  1. One of the reasons I never took writing/communication seriously. 
  2. Check out a “Let’s Play” video on Youtube to get an idea. “Telltale Games” – www.telltalegames.com/gameofthrones/videos/ 
  3. My Top 3 Languages: Java, HTML/CSS, R 
  4. learntocodewith.me/posts/5-computer-programmer-personality-traits/ 
24 thoughts on “Entry #12 – Programmer

  1. I’ve got such a busy week, and so many emails to wade through, I had every intention of deleting yours and moving on without reading. But something stopped me, maybe a word I don’t remember; and before I new it I was at the Last of the Mohicans. How do you do it, Mr. Programer? Your blogs are so damn interesting, thoughtful, entertaining, and even educational. You say you’ve never blogged before but are very good at it. You sure pull me off course everyday.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Guess my luck pulled through for me again πŸ˜› Thanks for reading and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your comment!

      You literally made my day before it started so I have a gift for you, a little fun fact. My mom is a professional artist πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As a programmer, I’m sure you have a reason for having listed the “traits” in the order of Patience/Courage/Passion/Creativity/Logic. I could never be a programmer, because I lack the logic of patience, the passion of courage, and the creativity to put it all together.
    Keep writing, maybe I’ll learn something! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I ordered them the same way as in the list I found! And definitely, a lot more to come throughout the summer. I plan on posting at least once a day till the end of July. Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  3. Ahhh… now the pieces of your puzzle are fitting together. I felt you had much more skill then you were letting on to. Thank you for venturing into blogging. Not only are you learning, you are teaching and that is exciting. I do love reading your posts, they are very ….. you. Thank you for being here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Okay. So, I don’t think I would get hired in this area…I’m very impatient and the whole programming thing doesn’t make sense to me at all!! I know this because my dad is a programmer, he has explained so many time and what I hear is another language coming out of his mouth. Anyways, you are so gifted to actually LOVE programming. You have the personality aspects…wow. You are so talented. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow. A programmer a world that I do not understand. I do love your post. Found you through a comment on kinder way posting. Looking forward to reading more of your post as a figure out this new world that I’m in.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post. I am terrified of HTML. Maybe I need a dose of courage to learn even just a little bit of programming:)?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HTML is actually one of the easiest to learn! It helps when learning any language to figure out exactly what you want to do with it. Programming is very result oriented. Let me know if you need help!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hilarious! I was a programmer for maybe about 10 years, but my languages of choice were COBOL, JCL, CICS, DB2, IMS and Sequel. Learned a little C++ but the object oriented languages in general are Greek to me – although I understand them conceptually, I never was able to really grasp them. Whereas the earlier mainframe languages I found very artistic almost and yes, extremely logical. I got a kick out of writing beautiful, efficient programs with them. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. First programming post I’ve seen, immediately caught my attention. Software developer myself.
    Very interesting post in regards to how you do things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by and glad it interested you! I’m still a University student but I’m proud of some of the code I’ve written.

      My topics for this blog are completely random so programming related posts may be sparse for a while, but I’ll have many more when school starts up again in September. You might like Entry 13 and if you have any topic requests do let me know!

      I’ll be checking your blog out later tonight πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. It doesn’t matter if the blog has programming posts or not, I get more than enough code on a daily basis, just something that made me look further into your site.
        My blog is of a different nature, something to clear my head and get me away from my daily logical thinking.
        Good luck with school.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

