Entry #5 – Failure

Michael Jordan on Failure

Date: Saturday June 4th, 2016
Time: 21:20:52

Today, I spent a little bit of time working on this website. I had no clue what to write on the about page. Normally I would just put it off until an idea came along. I do that way too often and I’m done with it. I’ve reached a point where I would rather fail than not give something a shot for fear it might not be perfect. One of the reasons I never liked writing was things never turned out the way I wanted them to. An idea would never sound as good on paper as in my head, so I procrastinated my writing assignments like no one’s business.

One of the reasons I’m writing this blog is to get over this idiocy. I want to be an exceptional writer and I won’t get there until I embrace failure.

A few days ago, I posted my first quote. “I am not a success despite my failures. I am a success because of my failures.” It’s a lesson I’ve learned too many times, and one you would do well to remember. It’s an important distinction to make because you simply can’t succeed without failure. Think of it as a prerequisite to every single one of your goals. If you don’t check it off the list, if you don’t choose to overcome it, you won’t achieve anything. Don’t trust me? Take it from Michael Jordan…or any successful athlete, entrepreneur, or professional in this world. Don’t trust them? TAKE IT FROM YOURSELF.

I absolutely love children. They remind me how awesome I used to be before I grew up, especially my sheer willpower. Do you remember yourself?

You weren’t born knowing how to give up. You weren’t born knowing that failure is an option. It’s something you were taught by the people around you who thought they knew better. Can you imagine if a toddler knew it could just stop trying? If a toddler was an average person, after trying to walk a few times and falling over, it wouldn’t have anymore of it. I dread to think what it would say… “Walking isn’t for me. There’s other things I’ll be good at. I’m happy just crawling everywhere.”

Fortunately, kids aren’t average people. They are extraordinary. They don’t give up no matter how many times they fail. As far as I’m concerned, kids are superheroes. There’s more than a lesson or two you can learn from them.

I’m ready to be my old self again. The one that doesn’t give up in the face of adversity, no matter how hard it gets. Failure is not an option.

One last thing before I go. Children don’t learn to walk alone. They need the love and support of their parents. They need a pillar that won’t give out. But once they start walking, they don’t need anyone to teach them to run. So if you’re reading this and you need it, I will be your pillar. I’ll teach you to walk and one day soon, you will soar. Let your superhero free…you won’t regret it.

To awkward endings,
Pulkit

P.S. Don’t mistake me. I have a long journey ahead of me to get where I’m going. All I know is that I’m going to get there. And I’m definitely not perfect, but neither are my parents and they did a pretty incredible job. 😀

Superheroes – The Script

16 thoughts on “Entry #5 – Failure

  1. “I am not a success despite my failures. I am a success because of my failures.” This quote is so perfect! I have never thought of it like that. I am always so afraid of failing, and that holds me back in so many ways. Even with my writing. Now I will take a chance and embrace failure just as you do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Right there with you! Plowing ahead, despite the past failures, no longer concerned with it being perfect or failing, but where will this next venture take me! What can I add to my resume of life with this step! How can others learn from it when I write about it! 🙂
    Inspiring post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

